Natural Beauty

by Tiffany

A little over a year ago, I found out that my Mother was diagnosed with advanced stage Breast Cancer. Upon hearing this devastating news, I began to research everything about this horrible disease that kills approximately 40,000 women each year.

The results of my research were eye-opening to say the least. I found out that many of the products that I was using everyday contained potentially harmful carcinogens. At that point, I decided that I was going to make the switch to all-natural beauty and health products and hopefully convince my family to make the switch as well.

I wanted to gather as much information as I could so I decided to go check out an all-natural beauty store called Greenline Beauty that had recently opened on Melrose Ave.  I spent a good hour and a half in there talking to the owner. I told her about my mother’s breast cancer and my health concerns for her and for my family. She was beyond helpful and had obviously been educated in health and beauty for many years. The most interesting piece of information that I got from her was that if I wanted to make the switch to all-natural products, then I should start with my deodorant and toothpaste. To find out more information on why, check out these articles:

The 5 Hidden Dangers in Toothpaste

Is Your Anti-Perspirant Killing You?

Needless to say, I left there with some toothpaste, deodorant and plenty of invaluable information.

So far, I have switched out most of my beauty products, from skin care, shampoo/conditioner and body wash to laundry detergent and dryer sheets. I am still in the process of switching out my make-up…I think that will be the hardest. One brand that I really love is Tarte cosmetics. They have some really great stuff. I even like their eyelash curler better than the Shu Uemura one.

Searching for the best natural products has been quite a mission. I’ve tried many, hated some and fell in love with others. Here are a few of the  products that I am currently using:

I’m very happy with this new line from Burt’s Bee’s. This creamy cleanser is so gentle and has actually improved the texture of my skin. The day cream is also great but I may need something a little more moisturizing for the winter months. Twice a week, I use the Peach & Willowbark Deep Pore Scrub and at night, I use the Naturally Ageless Serum.

I tried a couple different natural toothpastes, which were disgusting, and when I tried this I was sold. It tastes just like a regular toothpaste.

I just started using this new line from Renpure and I’m pretty happy with it. Before, I was using an expensive brand that left my hair way too parched so I decided to give this a whirl. Also, twice a week I use their Amazing Miracle Reconstructor to treat my fried ends.

For an after shower moisturizer, I put Jojoba oil into a spritzer bottle and added some essential oils for a little fragrance. I put it on while my body is still damp and it absorbs pretty quickly. I also use it as an eye-makeup remover and hair treatment once in a while.

Yup, back to Burt’s Bees again! I’ve been using this for a little while now and the scent really wakes me up in the morning. If you don’t like minty-fresh stuff then it’s not for you but it’s definitely refreshing. I tried the other scent that they have called Grapefruit & Ginger and it’s not bad but I like this scent better. I also like the Tea Tree Tingle body wash from Trader Joe’s.

If you have any great natural products you’re using, please share! I think I’m gonna start making my own at some point…should be fun!

On a side note, the last time I went back to Massachusetts to visit my family I was SO happy to find all of the natural products that were in the bathroom cabinets. My mom can be pretty stubborn, so I was very proud of her. Love you Mommy!

 

 

