Falling Whistles: For Peace in Congo

by Tiffany

Last week a woman with long, pink hair came into my store. She was dressed in all black with some bad-ass shoes and a really cool trench coat. When I was ringing her up, I noticed her necklace…it was rugged and urbane and I wanted it. I said “I love your necklace, is that a whistle, where did you get it?” And she told me.

The necklace that she was wearing is from a non-profit organization called Falling Whistles, a campaign for peace in Congo.

‘The Democratic Republic of Congo is home to our world’s deadliest war since WWII. Over the last decade more than 6 million people have died, and nearly 1,500 people continue to lose their lives daily. Sexual violence is more rampant here than anywhere else in the world, and thousands of children are involved in the war. Why?’ Click here to read more…

I’m always an advocate for buying things for a purpose…for a cause. As soon as I got home that night I looked it up. The story is mind-blowing and is told as a journal entry by the author, Sean Carasso, who journeyed into the Democratic Republic of Congo on what was meant to be a short stop. It was there he heard of children too small to carry a gun, who were sent to the front lines of war armed with only a whistle.

The Falling Whistles campaign was born in response to that journal entry.

 

 

 

