Chocolate-Covered Orange Body Balm

by Tiffany

I am happy to say that I have successfully finished my first homemade beauty product! It was so insanely easy, anyone can do it. I got the recipe from the book, Organic Body Care Recipes by Stephanie Tourles. Below I have listed the ingredients, where to get them and the directions. This body balm is so rich and melts on contact. A little goes a long way! On warmer days, I mix a dab of this balm with my regular body lotion (currently using Unscented Ultimate Moisturizing Lotion by Aubrey Organics) so it’s not too heavy. Next time, I am going to try this recipe with vanilla essential oil, yum!

Ingredients:

7 tablespoons coconut base oil (extra-virgin, unrefined)
*you can find this in the natural foods section of your grocery store, at Whole Foods, Trader Joes or online

1 tablespoon cocoa butter
*I bought mine online here and used half a stick for the recipe

40 drops sweet orange essential oil
*you can find this at Whole Foods or online

Storage container
*I used a plastic body butter jar that I had saved after I used up the product

 

Directions:

In a small sauce pan over low heat, warm the coconut oil and cocoa butter until the butter is just melted.

Remove from heat and let cool for 15 minutes.

Add the essential oil and stir to blend.

Pour into storage container and cap. Allow the mixture to set for 24 hours.

*No refrigeration is required, but for maximum freshness and potency, please use within 1 year.

 

