Vegan Swiss Chard Wraps

by Tiffany

vegan swiss chard wrapsvegan swiss chard wrapsvegan swiss chard wrapsI am so happy that I got to spend over 2 weeks back in Massachusetts with my family. For anyone that doesn’t know, my mom has breast cancer and is currently recovering from her 2nd surgery. It meant the world to me that I was able to help out with the cooking, cleaning, laundry and taking my mom to her doctors appointments. I swear to god, this trip really brought out my maternal instincts!

I was also really excited to share some of my healthy recipes with them. My mom has committed to losing weight and my Dad wants to be a positive support so hopefully I was able to help. I had always wanted to try making one of these leafy wraps but I never got around to it. This was my first attempt and they came out pretty damn good! This is how I made them:

Blanch the swiss chard leaves (bring water to a boil, then put the leaves in for like 2-3 minutes)
Place the leaves in an ice bath to stop them from cooking (big bowl of ice water)
Lay the leaves out and pat them dry, squeezing out the excess water
Cut out the spines so that you have two halves, then overlap them
Put the filling in the middle of the leaf
For the filling, I used:
Roasted red pepper hummus
quinoa
black beans
shredded carrots
cucumbers
tomatos
Then, wrap them up tucking in the sides as you go…yum!

